Men’s Tennis Claims Record-Setting 5th Consecutive National Championship

Men’s Tennis Claims Record-Setting 5th Consecutive National Championship


Peachtree City, GA – The Emory Oxford men's tennis was in a familiar place this weekend as it won its fifth consecutive National Championship. This broke the previous DIII record of four consecutive titles set by Rowan-Gloucester, who finished third in the tournament. 

Going into the final day of competition, the Eagles had claimed spots in all of the championship matches and had a 3-point lead over Onondaga Community College who finished second. Needing only 4 points to claim the championship, the Eagles were able to win two points in doubles play. Sophomore David George and freshman Orest Los won the Eagle's first match of the day winning third doubles, 6-2, 6-1. In second doubles, sophomore captain Julian McCarthy and freshman Kevin Yan earned the Eagles' second win with a 6-3, 6-3 victory.

In singles play, freshman John Funda won sixth singles easily defeating his opponent 6-1, 6-1. Needing only one point to secure the national championship, Yan won fourth singles 6-4, 6-0 securing the Eagles eight overall national championship. In fifth singles, Los defeated his opponent 6-2, 7-5. McCarthy rounded out the day for the Eagles winning first singles 7-5, 6-3, which included an incredible comeback victory in the first set where he was down 2 games to 5. 

"I am extremely proud of how the boys competed all tournament," stated Head Coach Pernilla Hardin, who was named Coach of the Year. "All of the guys hard work payed off. Onandaga was a tough team and they had some good players, but our boys fought hard and competed well. Kavin (Jain) and Tate (Coston) both competed well in first doubles and in their singles matches against tough opponents."

This marks the ninth overall championship (men's and women's) that Coach Hardin has won in the past five years. Earlier this year, the women's tennis team won their 4th-consecutive national championship.

Photo Courtesy of